Pomodoro, Week 1 in Review

One week of Pomodoro is in the books (or, in the Excel tracking spreadsheet, as it were). A few observations after a week:

1. Internal interruptions have almost completely been eliminated. I’m not sure whether to attribute this to my tasks being fully engaging or to an increase in self-discipline, or some combination of the two. Either way, being mentally focused and clear for an entire 25-minute period without my mind wandering into other things I need to do is liberating.

2. I need to do a better job of getting the last Pomodoro of the day completed, which includes daily recording and evaluation. Most days I have had to take some time in the evening to do the recording, which is not ideal since I am a little bit removed from the tasks and challenges of the day by that point.

3. I have had greater success in remembering to accomplish everything I need to get done. When I was younger and life was simpler, remembering my tasks was pretty easy. All too often, though, as life has become more complex, tasks went unfinished or I simply forgot to do them until the last minute. Over the past week I have not had that experience. Just taking 25 minutes each day to think through my tasks, prioritizing for the day/week, and keeping a running list of what needs to be done as new tasks come up has been immensely helpful in preventing important items from slipping through the cracks.

4. I need a real kitchen timer. The free iPhone app has worked ok, but I think a physical timer would be better in some cases.

Over the weekend I won’t be using the Pomodoro technique as much as my schedule changes from it’s Monday-Thursday routine, so I’ll probably write a post reflecting on the Pomodoro and Pastoral Ministry after a week.

Leave a Reply

